CR Number 2

Heading over to the flat lands of Ely this weekend for the Ely 10mile TT. It was a course I hadn’t ridden before, but I’d noted down the course record, and believed it was achievable with a strong ride.

The course started with a gradual ramp and then was flat and open there and back. So I rode out hard up the ramp to get up to speed as quickly as possible. Thankfully with the tailwind out I could recover over the top and ride out to the turn at a high speed without much effort. This worked out very well, as when I took the roundabout and hit the headwind, I had plenty in the tank to open the taps and really push on in the second half.

Key Stats:

Return Leg: 7.5km | 10min 7secs | 44.5kmh | 390watts | 174bpm

Coming into the final roundabout with 800metres to go, I had to touch the brakes as there was some traffic behind a slower rider, but I knew as soon as that cleared I could just give it everything to the line! I crossed the line at 20min 18secs, taking the course record by 11secs. Happy days! Now with 2 course records to my name, I can confidently say the form is building nicely ahead of the run of National Championships later in the month!

Bianchi UK | Twenty3c โ€“ Independent Bike Shop | Writtle College | TEC Components | Ellmore Clothing |ย Perkins Garages | Science in Sport | Borg Wheels | Sovereign Guards UK | Crotch Guard

Leave a Reply

